Greatest Chicken Poster Ever….Ever

img_7746

I took a little road trip to Columbia SC over Christmas vacation to visit the football exibit at the South Carolina State Museum as well as one of the most unique Antique stores in the South, Safran’s Antiques and the Gamecock Shop, their Ebay store located is here. I bought two posters on this day, a 1981 IPTAY advertisement (more info coming soon), and this thing of beauty. 8 head coaches from the state of South Carolina supporting the state’s poultry industry.

Dating the posters proved sightly tricky. Using information from my helmet page I discovered Newberry used their helmet form about 1984-1987, The Citadel used this model from 1984-86, and Wofford from 1985-87. Which left 1985 and 1986. Then I started looking at the coaches and discovered that Jimmy Satterfield of Furman and Dennis Thomas of SC State began their head coaching duties in 1986. So I feel pretty confident that this is from 1986.

OBSERVATIONS
Does anyone else find it ironic that Joe Morrison of the USC Gamecocks is peddling Chicken?
I am very grateful that the era of coaching shorts and britches has passed us by.
Notice the helmets on the bottom row. How did we exist before photoshop?

The gallery can be found here.

