Wofford Mystery

Woff vs. Mars Hill

The above photo was part of the Blood Sweat and Cheers exhibit I posted on a few days ago. The first thing I noticed about this was that Wofford does not seem to have a decal on their helmet for this game and that the photo was not dated. When I started researching and drawing historical college helmets, Wofford was the second school I visited back in 2004. So I have been under the impression that I had complete set of Wofford helmets; however, most of my information on Wofford comes from yearbooks (not always Wofford). Most yearbooks only have photos from one or two games a season and many of those photos are in black and white. It’s not uncommon for a team to go with a decal a game or two or even change decals in mid season.

Dating the photo has been tricky, but I think I have narrowed it down to either 1983 or 1984. I recognize the opponent in this photo as Mars Hill College in NC. I do not have a picture of Mars Hill from 1983 but I do know that they played Wofford both of these years and that apparently (if you assume they are using a pic from 1985 to use on their preseason 1986 media guide) they went without decals in 1985 (you may notice that MHC is playing Wofford in that photo as well). The last wildcard in this mystery is that our mystery photo states this is home game for Wofford, but if this is true why is Wofford wearing their white uniforms?

There is part of me that wishes that this photo was from 1984 because the helmet decal in this picture maybe the worst of all time. I wish I had a better picture to show you because it looks like the child of a very powerful man, perhaps a school president or a head coach, demanded that the logo he drew in his school notebook should adorn the football helmet of Wofford College. Yet I believe it is from 1983 because from this photo I can make out what appears to be the same stripe sequence as this. If you have any information on this I would love to hear from ya. Drop me a line a helmetachive (at) gmail.com or leave a comment for all to see.

