SEC Football by Burt Sugar

I stumbled across this book at my local library recently.  Not a particular great resource on the history of the conference as an entity, but it does give a brief history of each team that was in the SEC during the time of its 1978 publication.  I was impressed by many of the pics found in the book.

The inside cover has this great collection of SEC pennants.

From SEC Sugar


My apologies to all you Bamers’

From SEC Sugar


It’s hard to believe that this was once the mascot for the University of Florida.

From SEC Sugar


Alabama in a Leather vs. Plastic clash.  I’m thinking that the white helmet may be Tennessee but I am not sure.

From SEC Sugar


I like how this LSU National Title ring was made to look like the inside of a stadium.

From SEC Sugar


Here is a great shot of UGA’s Sanford Stadium before they enclosed the end zone.  Notice all of the “track people” watching the game for free.

From SEC Sugar



Clear face mask Alert.  That’s Vanderbilt from 1953

From SEC Sugar



The book even included logos from each school.

From SEC Sugar

The entire album can be found here.

