Helmets in Service of Their Country

bob

Now, aboard C-47s heading into the skies over Georgia, we were going to find out who had balls.  To refuse to jump, even once, was to be bounced from the Airborne.  If a guy froze in practice, how the hell could you trust that he was going to jump when the enemy waiting below?

My worse thought was having to send a letter home saying I’d washed out.  I’d be betraying the memory of my two uncles by failing.  So, no, I couldn’t fail, I thought as we sat, nine to either side of the lumbering two-engine aircraft.  We were wearing some team’s old football helmets, a scene that probably wouldn’t have scared the hell out of the krauts.  Page 54

Malarkey, Don, and Bob Welch. Easy Company Soldier: The Legendary Battles of a Sergeant from World War II’s “Band of Brothers”. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 2008.

Happy 4th everyone!

